CC Search Syntax Guide

When you search, you can enter special symbols or words to your search term to make your search results more precise.

Search for an exact match

Put a word or phrase inside quotes. For example, "Claude Monet".

Search by title

Put title: in front of your search term to see only results whose title contains the specified term. For example, title:"cats".

Search by license

Put license: in front of your search term to see only results from the specified source. For example, license:"by"
The results will be images licensed under the CC-BY license. You can use any of the other CC licenses: "by", "by-sa", "by-nc", "by-nd", "by-nc-sa", "by-nc-nd", "cc0", "pdm".

Search by provider

Put provider: in front of your search term to see only results from the specified source. For example, provider:"met"
Note that you must use one of the provider codes specified below, searching for something like provider:"Metropolitan Museum of Art" will not return any results. Use the following table with the provider code of every provider in our collection.

Provider Name Provider Code
Animal Diversity Web animaldiversity
Bēhance behance
Brooklyn Museum brooklynmuseum
Culturally Authentic Pictorial Lexicon CAPL
Cleveland Museum of Art clevelandmuseum
DeviantArt deviantart
Digitalt Museum digitaltmuseum
Flickr flickr
Flora-On floraon
Geograph Britain and Ireland geographorguk
McCord Museum mccordmuseum
Metropolitan Museum of Art met
Museums Victoria museumsvictoria
PhyloPic phylopic
Rawpixel rawpixel
Rijksmuseum rijksmuseum
Science Museum – UK sciencemuseum
SVG Silh svgsilh
Thingiverse thingiverse
Thorvaldsens Museum thorvaldsensmuseum
Wikimedia Commons wikimedia
World Register of Marine Species WoRMS

Search by tags

Put tags.name: in front of your search term to see only results that are tagged with the specified tag. For example, tags.name:"sky"
If you want to combine tags, you can use the AND operator, or the OR operator, depending on your search preference.

Example: tags.name:"sky" AND tags.name:"airplane"
This will search for images with both tags, sky and airplane.

Example: tags.name:"phone" OR tags.name:"sky"
This will search for images tagged with sky or with phone, but not necessarily both.

Combining keywords

Put AND in between two queries to see only results that match both queries. For example:

Put OR in between two queries to see only results that match either query. For example:

Put NOT in between two queries to see only results that match the first query and do not match the second query. You can also use parentheses to combine more than one of these operations For example: