About CC Search

CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.

CC Search searches across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. It goes beyond simple search to aggregate results across multiple public repositories into a single catalog, and facilitates reuse through features like machine-generated tags and one-click attribution.

Currently CC Search only searches images, but we plan to add additional media types such as open texts and audio, with the ultimate goal of providing access to all 1.4 billion CC licensed and public domain works on the web. Learn more about CC’s 2019 vision, strategy and roadmap for CC Search and see what we’re currently working on. All of our code is open source (CC Search, CC Catalog API, CC Catalog) and we welcome community contribution.

Please note that CC does not verify whether the images are properly CC licensed, or whether the attribution and other licensing information we have aggregated is accurate or complete. Please independently verify the licensing status and attribution information before reusing the content. For more details, read the CC Terms of Use.

Looking for the old CC Search portal? Visit https://oldsearch.creativecommons.org.

Sources

Source Domain # CC Licensed Works
Animal Diversity Web https://animaldiversity.org 15,546
Bēhance https://www.behance.net 5,627,256
Brooklyn Museum https://www.brooklynmuseum.org 60,138
Culturally Authentic Pictorial Lexicon http://capl.washjeff.edu 15,142
Cleveland Museum of Art http://www.clevelandart.org 31,353
DeviantArt https://www.deviantart.com 271,362
Digitalt Museum https://digitaltmuseum.no 203,567
Flickr https://www.flickr.com 277,640,710
Flora-On https://flora-on.pt 55,010
Geograph Britain and Ireland https://www.geograph.org.uk 1,231,263
McCord Museum http://www.musee-mccord.qc.ca/en 218,534
Metropolitan Museum of Art https://www.metmuseum.org 462,422
Museums Victoria https://museumsvictoria.com.au 81,517
PhyloPic http://phylopic.org 3,367
Rawpixel https://www.rawpixel.com 41,244
Rijksmuseum https://www.rijksmuseum.nl/en 29,999
SVG Silh https://svgsilh.com 238,711
Thingiverse https://www.thingiverse.com 29,450
Thorvaldsens Museum http://www.thorvaldsensmuseum.dk 8,758
World Register of Marine Species http://www.marinespecies.org 22,205