If you donate $5 today, and everyone else does the same, we can keep growing our database of freely reusable content. For you. For all of us.

About CC Search

CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.

CC Search searches across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset. It goes beyond simple search to aggregate results across multiple public repositories into a single catalog, and facilitates reuse through features like machine-generated tags and one-click attribution.

Currently CC Search only searches images, but we plan to add additional media types such as open texts and audio, with the ultimate goal of providing access to all 1.4 billion CC licensed and public domain works on the web. Learn more about CC’s 2019 vision, strategy and roadmap for CC Search and see what we’re currently working on. All of our code is open source (CC Search, CC Catalog API, CC Catalog) and we welcome community contribution

Please note that CC does not verify whether the images are properly CC licensed, or whether the attribution and other licensing information we have aggregated is accurate or complete. Please independently verify the licensing status and attribution information before reusing the content. For more details, read the CC Terms of Use.

Looking for the old CC Search portal? Visit https://oldsearch.creativecommons.org.

Sources

Source Domain # CC Licensed Works
Animal Diversity Web https://animaldiversity.org 15,554
Biodiversity Heritage Library https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/ 228,289
Brooklyn Museum https://www.brooklynmuseum.org 63,221
Culturally Authentic Pictorial Lexicon http://capl.washjeff.edu 15,143
Cleveland Museum of Art http://www.clevelandart.org 34,283
DeviantArt https://www.deviantart.com 239,000
Digitalt Museum https://digitaltmuseum.no 289,769
Europeana https://www.europeana.eu 7,729,618
Flickr https://www.flickr.com 466,541,104
Flora-On https://flora-on.pt 55,010
Geograph Britain and Ireland https://www.geograph.org.uk 1,090,120
McCord Museum http://www.musee-mccord.qc.ca/en 110,075
Metropolitan Museum of Art https://www.metmuseum.org 182,000
Museums Victoria https://museumsvictoria.com.au 143,842
NASA https://www.nasa.gov/ 115,006
New York Public Library https://www.nypl.org 1,269
PhyloPic http://phylopic.org 3,855
Rawpixel https://www.rawpixel.com 25,199
Rijksmuseum https://www.rijksmuseum.nl/en 29,999
Science Museum – UK https://www.sciencemuseum.org.uk 63,218
Sketchfab https://sketchfab.com 37,900
Smithsonian Institution: National Museum of African American History and Culture https://nmaahc.si.edu 7,477
Smithsonian Institution: National Museum of African Art https://africa.si.edu/ 135
Smithsonian Institution: National Air and Space Museum https://airandspace.si.edu 4,741
Smithsonian Institution: Smithsonian American Art Museum https://americanart.si.edu/ 11,877
Smithsonian Institution: National Museum of American History https://americanhistory.si.edu/ 2,492
Smithsonian Institution: National Museum of the American Indian https://americanindian.si.edu/ 246
Smithsonian Institution: Anacostia Community Museum https://anacostia.si.edu/ 571
Smithsonian Institution: Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum https://www.cooperhewitt.org 65,396
Smithsonian Institution: Freer Gallery of Art https://asia.si.edu/ 3,876
Smithsonian Institution: Smithsonian Gardens https://gardens.si.edu/ 689
Smithsonian Institution: Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden https://hirshhorn.si.edu/ 423
Smithsonian Institution Archives https://siarchives.si.edu/ 4,971
Smithsonian Institution: Smithsonian Libraries https://library.si.edu/ 55
Smithsonian Institution: National Museum of Natural History https://naturalhistory.si.edu/ 2,790,144
Smithsonian Institution: National Portrait Gallery https://npg.si.edu/ 11,549
Smithsonian Institution: National Postal Museum http://postalmuseum.si.edu/ 2,945
Smithsonian Institution: National Zoo https://nationalzoo.si.edu/ 462
SpaceX https://spacex.com 877
SVG Silh https://svgsilh.com 358,943
Thingiverse https://www.thingiverse.com 32,395
Thorvaldsens Museum http://www.thorvaldsensmuseum.dk 9,052
Wikimedia Commons https://commons.wikimedia.org 44,491,984
WOCinTech Chat https://www.wocintechchat.com/ 267
World Register of Marine Species http://www.marinespecies.org 19,783